Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Chevres, Holley Named To VaSID All-State Wrestling Teams

Chevres, Holley Named To VaSID All-State Wrestling Teams

Apprentice School sophomore Marcus Chevres and senior Ty Holley were named to the Virginia Sports Information Directors Association All-State Wrestling teams announced on Friday.  Chevres was a first team selection, while Holley was a second team honoree.

Chevres, a Norfolk, Va. native and an outside machinist apprentice, was 33-6 on the year and finished second at the National Collegiate Wrestling Association National Championships for the second straight year at 133 pounds.  He won 18 dual matches to tie for the team lead and sports a 59-23 career record after two seasons.  His 84.62% winning percentage this year is ninth-best in the last 20 years of Apprentice School wrestling.

Ty Holley - 2010 NCWA 141-pound champion Holley, an Erwin, NC native and an electrician apprentice, was 34-6 on the season and won the 141-pound weight class at NCWA Nationals.  He sported a sparkling 22-2 record in tournaments this year and was one of seven Builders to win 10 or matches by fall.  His 85% winning percentage this year is tied for sixth best in the last 20 years of Apprentice School wrestling, while his 72.15% career winning percentage (57-22) is tenth best career winning percentage in the last 20 years.

This marks the second year in a row that the Builders garnered a first and second team selection to the All-State team.  Cecil Lee (first) and Will Harcum (second) were honorees last year.  This is the only team produced by the state association that combines University Division (NCAA Division I) and College Division athletes.


2010 VaSID All-State Wrestling Team

First Team

125                 James Nicholson, Old Dominion
133                 Marcus Chevres, Apprentice School
141                 Chris Diaz, Virginia Tech
149                 Brian Stephens, Virginia Tech
157                 Peter Rose, Southern Virginia
165                 Chris Brown, Old Dominion
174                 Chris Henrich, Virginia
184                 Mike Salopek, Virginia
197                 Brent Jones, Virginia
HWT              Josh Wine, VMI

Second Team

125                 Jarrod Garnett, Virginia Tech
133                 Matt Snyder, Virginia
141                 Ty Holley, Apprentice School
149                 Frankie Gayeski, Liberty
157                 Jesse Dong, Virginia Tech
165                 Chad Porter, Liberty
174                 Mendbagana Tovuujav, George Mason
184                 Tommy Spellman, Virginia Tech
197                 Jesse Strawn, Old Dominion
HWT              Jack Danilkowicz, Virginia


Wrestler of the Year

Chris Henrick, Virginia

Rookie of the Year

Brian Stephens, Virginia Tech (Unanimous decision)

Coach of the Year

Steve Garland, Virginia