Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Three Wrestlers Win Weight Classes At Season Opening Virginia Beach Nationals

Three Wrestlers Win Weight Classes At Season Opening Virginia Beach Nationals

EVENT: Virginia Beach Nationals

RESULTS: click here (click popular tournaments/Virginia Beach Nationals)

LOCATION: Virginia Beach Field House

MAT TALK: The Apprentice School wrestling team opened their 2013-14 season on Saturday with the third annual Virginia Beach Nationals held at the Virginia Beach Field House and came away with a strong showing in the 102-person open bracket.

Three Builders won their weight classes, while eight finished in the top three and 12 took spots in the top five of their brackets.

Sophomore Jacob Michael won the 11-man 125-pound bracket going 4-0 on the day.  Two of those wins were by fall, including winning the bracket by fall in 6:06 over Zach Stouffer.

Sophomore Patrik Foxworth went 3-0 to win the 11-man 149-pound bracket.  His first two collegiate matches were both wins by fall over Dinatra Landry of Penn State Mont Alto (3:23) and Chris Viola in 7:45. In the finals he defeated teammate Tyrell Watkins by a 7-3 decision.  Watkins won two matches by decision and one by fall to make it to the finals.

At heavyweight, junior Ian Jones started off 3-0 to win that bracket.  A pair of decisions propelled him to the finals as he won 8-5 over Aston Williams (Ferrum) and 4-1 in sudden victory over Jaron Burke.  In the finals he won by fall in 4:50 over Josh Tavers of Liberty.

Joining Watkins as bracket runner-up was sophomore Shane Smith at 133 pounds where he went 4-1 in the round-robin bracket.


The Builders will now head to Pennsylvania for a dual weekend.  They'll face Penn State Mont Alto on Friday night and then participate in the Electric City Duals hosted by the University of Scranton on Saturday.


How they finished

1st – Jacob Michael (4-0/125); Patrik Foxworth (4-0/149); Ian Jones (3-0/285)

2nd – Tyrell Watkins (3-1/149); Shane Smith (4-1/133)

3rdRob Styron (4-1/125); Sterling Briscoe (3-1/141); CW Sorey (2-1/184)

4th – Philip Porto (4-2/165)

5thDerek Burhenn (2-2/141)

6thCruz Garcia (1-2/149)


125-Cameron Banks (1-0)

133 – Dwayne Roes (0-1)

165-Brian Beatson (1-1)

165-Kyle Lowry (2-2)

184-Garrett Williams (0-2)

197-Josh Rodriguez (1-0)