Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wrestlers Take Fourth At NCWA Collegiate Cup Duals

Wrestlers Take Fourth At NCWA Collegiate Cup Duals

EVENT: NCWA Collegiate Cup Duals

LOCATION: Dalton, GA/Northwest Georgia Trade & Convention Center

DUALS: Apprentice School 23, Middle Tennessee St. 15; Grand Canyon 54, Apprentice School 0; Liberty 48, Apprentice School 12

RECORD: Apprentice School 15-5

ON THE MAT: The Apprentice School wrestling team went 1-2 on Saturday and finished fourth in the National Collegiate Wrestling Association Collegiate Cup Duals held in Dalton, Georgia.

Their first match was in the quarterfinals where they defeated Mid Atlantic Conference foe Middle Tennessee State University 23-15.  After trailing 6-3 following the 141-pound match, the Builders got a bonus point win from Patrik Foxworth with a tech fall win over Gerard McQueen 17-1 at 149 to regain the lead 8-6.  MTSU got to within a point twice, the last coming after 184 pounds when they trailed 14-13.  A Josh Rodriguez win by fall at 197 and an Ian Jones 4-3 overtime decision over Rashied Rayford gave the Builders a 23-15 win.

In the semifinals, they ran up against eventual champion Grand Canyon University and lost 54-0.  Grand Canyon is in transition from NCAA Division II to NCAA Division I.

The third-place match saw the Builders jump on Liberty with an early win by fall from Jacob Michael at 125 pounds, but the Flames soared with eight straight wins to take a 48-12 victory.

  • The fourth-place finish marked the third time in six trips that the Builders have made it to the semifinals.  Their best finish came in 2010 when they were runner-up to Marion Military Institute. 
  • The finish of a team in the Collegiate Cup Duals will give them points toward their team total for the NCWA National Championships coming up in March.  With its fourth-place finish, the Builders have 21 points toward their total at nationals. 


The Builders will host the Builder Duals on February 2 starting at 10 am. Tentatively scheduled to participate are East Carolina University, University of Texas-Arlington and James Madison University.



Middle Tennessee had team point deducted at 285
125: Jacob Michael (A) dec. Anthony Patnode 5-4                      
133: Eric Feuerbacher (MTSU) dec. Shane Smith 7-5                  
141: Carlos Garcia (MTSU) dec. Tyrell Watkins 11-9                    
149: Patrik Foxworth (A) tech fall Gerard McQueen 17-1         
157: Brian Beatson (A) dec. Jordan Russell 8-5                            
165: Everett Colbert (MTSU) maj. dec. Daniel Henson 11-1     
174: Phillip Porto (A) dec. Charlton Thayn 14-12                         
184: Jonathan Roberts (MTSU) dec. DW Sorey 8-2                     
197: Josh Rodriguez (A) p. Khris Sawyer 3:58                               
235: Adam Wells (MTSU) dec. Kyle Cox 3-0                                  
285: Ian Jones (A) dec .Rashied Rayford 4-3 TB                            


125: Adellmo Salazar (G) p. Rob Styron 2:15                                 
133: Lino Estrada (G) p. Shane Smith 4:59                                     
141: Zach Zehner (G) dec. Ty Watkins 7-1                                      
149: Michael Hamel (G) tech fall Patrik Foxworth 19-3              
157: Chayse Jackson (G) dec. Sterling Briscoe 3-0                        
165: Juan Carlos Maynes (G) maj. dec. Chris Kennedy 12-1     
174: Austin Trujillo (G) won by forfeit                                           
184: Austin Gaun (G) tech fall CW Sorey 15-0                              
197: Marcus Haughian (G) maj. dec. Josh Rodriguez 17-5         
235: Nathan Zobott (G) won by forfeit                                          
285: Peter Anguiano (G) p. Ian Jones 2:54                                    


125: Jacob Michael (A) p. Jeremy Beale 4:57                               
133: Jacob Paull (L) p. Derek Burhenn 2:10                                  
141: Ryan Diehl (L) p. Ty Watkins 4:49                                          
149: Collin Lewis (L) dec. Patrik Foxworth 13-6                           
157: Chase Boontjer (L) maj. dec. Brian Beatson 7-0                  
165: Josh Ferenczy (L) p. Sterling Briscoe 2:23                             
174: Joshua Sturgill (L) p. Phillip Porto 3:23                                  
184: Matt Reynolds (L) p. CW Sorey 4:09                                      
197: Aaron Thompson (L) won by forfeit                                       
235: Josh Rodriguez (A) p. Josh Travers 4:39                                 
285: Zach Newton (L) won by forfeit                                               


Photo courtesy Bryan Knepper/NCWA